Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help



Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 996/997/991 Forum


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered User
 
aoua's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Montreal, Quebec Canada
Posts: 94
Garage
Instrument cluster FUSE continues to blow

I just interchanged the control unit for the heater controls (straight forward no issues disconnected one and plugged the other in), noticed my dash went black after i turned on the ignition. Changed instrument cluster fuse, continuously blows IMMEDIATELY when I change it.

Any ideas?

2003 C4S

Any help would be great

Andreas

__________________
1971 911T TARGA

http://www.pelicanparts.com/gallery/aoua/
Old 05-08-2011, 05:15 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Just did the same thing. I think its because my heater control unit is sourced from the US and mine is a UK car. The part numbers were out by the last number. Mine ended in 9. I think I need the one ending 3?? Cant remember.

Mine was just a half malfunctioning screen so put the old one back. Just the cluster not working so glad to hear yours was just a fuse and mine is likely to go back on when I switch the fuse.

Which part number did you put in? I now have a spare US part, to go back on ebay shortly.
Old 06-07-2011, 02:36 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Brandon FL
Posts: 371
the last digit on the part numbers is the revision number, so the 09 is a newer revision then the 03
__________________
Rick
99 996C4
06 525XI
87 944S - Sold
77 924 - Sold
Old 06-08-2011, 03:57 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2
Ah ok. Thanks for the explanation.

When I put the 03 in it was reading out degrees F not C for the temperatures. I thought this to be a sign that it was the wrong part, along with the blown fuse.

So can the deg f be switched to C? Or is this going to cause a conflict? I didn't go as far as to check the PCM to see if it had switched to f there. Maybe it can be switched back via PCM?

Perhaps if I fit it with the fuse out it will not blow it again..

Might hold on to the part if I can make it centigrade and its ok to use...

Be good to hear your thoughts on that.

Old 06-09-2011, 11:42 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Reply

Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

 


All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:34 AM.


 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Copyright 2020 Pelican Parts, LLC - Posts may be archived for display on the Pelican Parts Website -    DMCA Registered Agent Contact Page
 

DTO Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.