Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

2years + for a turbo install runs crappy need help!

Long f'n story,
I took my 77 targa to my lpm to have oem 930 take off turbo installed.
It has a 3.0L in it that ran tits prior to turbi install.
My mechanic finally tuned it back to me but it cuts boost at 10psi and the whole car acts lke it has a fuel prob., sputtering and lagging,plus the temp is 210 plus on a 50 degree day.
He's made up a million stories as to why he can't get it to run right post a 3k build/ransom bill.
To add insult to injury, he dropped a jack on the right rear qtr. panel.
I'm no Porsche mechanic, but know my way around marine big blocks pretty well, I own and operate a Parasail business and do most of the maint on the powerplants.
I really need help guys! Been with out my baby for over two years and am petrified to drive it due to issues.
I'm post divorce and tired of my ass hurting all the time.
Please give me a place to start.
Thanks,
Sam

Old 01-23-2009, 01:47 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Manassas, VA

Garage
Pictures would help so we know what kind of install your mechanic did. No two are the same...
Cutting boost at 10 psi is normal for a non-turbo car. If you went much higher, you would be sorry.
This may be a fuel starvation problem. The manual calls for a certain amount of fuel to flow in 30 seconds I think it is 51 ounces (1500cc). If you get that much, flow is good.
Then I would look for a lean condition, that could also be contributing to your running hot.

$3,000 for a turbo is about right, depending on how many parts were included. Do you have an intercooler?

Mark