Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Wer bremst verliert

First rebuild and block price question

First of all, thanks for bearing with my newb question, I hope to be a "net contributor" rather than a "net consumer" before long.

I'm sizing up my first porsche rebuild (this will be my third engine build so I'm still a novice) and my goals are;

1. get acquinted with porsche internal designs
2. build a reliable, torquey, street-legal track car
3. work on an engine which can see other future uses (ie. can be further built into a higher-performance plant if my desires go there)

Other considerations;
1. must be adaptable to a left-hand or RHD car (not sure if the transplant will be in the US or OZ.
2. not ready for turbo or supercharging

I'd like to get 230HP and run on pump gass (9-10 c/r?)

So I think a good start is an 83 SC 3.0 N/A engine assembly. Since it runs already, I should be able to selectively upgrade (ie. 3.2 P/C, cams) while not having to replace everything (ie. crank, rods, head, CIS)

Is my choice sound?

A dismantler is offering a running 3.0 assembly for $4000. Is this a fair price? He says he'll provide compression/leakdown figs but I'll be buying remotely so not verifiable by me until after delivery.

Thanks,
John
1978 911 3.0 Lichtbau toy "Gretchen"
1971 911 Targa S backroad toy

Last edited by JohnJL; 03-03-2005 at 10:07 AM..
Old 03-03-2005, 10:05 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Naturally, you should start by getting and reading Wayne's book (if you haven't already).