Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
I am considering 3.0 turbo for first rebuild(with your support)

I am a little apprehensive about jumping into this as I know many special tools will be needed and I have no experience with micrometers, dial gauges, and tolerances, shims, ect. With the seizing of my oil pump last weekend, and the broken intermediate shaft, My choices are to look for a good used 3.0 and get on the road or rebuild.

My engine is a CIS 79 SC 3.0 in a 914 which I fabricated a turbo system based from Sutters Turbo SC BAE thread with a 7th injector CSV, fired from a hobbs switch, the addition of an 8th injector if needed at 12 to 14lbs can easily be added.
I realize this may not be state of the art fuel management but it seems to work very well considering my application on a street car.
I had run the car with 9lbs the past summer and fall, and refabricated the system over the Winter with the addition of an intercooler and K27 7200, which I was able to test drive lightly with the boost still at 9lbs before the oil pump failure later that day.

My car will be a used on the street, and I dont wish to push it to the limit or overly stress it, I am not out to have the fastest car on the road. My goal is to have a very reliable turbo charged 3.0 pushing 12 to 14 lbs on boost on my playful bursts now and then.

I will need guidance in regards to the best piston and cylinder set up for the turbo, flame rings, ect. I have not spoken to Henry from Supertec yet, but if I chicken out and choose to have the rebuild done by a pro I will give him consideration because of his help over the phone and taking the time to answer my questions over the past few years ( plus he loves to turbo engines).