Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
least common denominator

School me on VPN

I am a computer tech but my job focuses more on hardware and keeping ancient computers running with bubble gum and bailing wire.

We got high speed internet a few months ago at home and a few people (and a few websites) are suggesting I set up a VPN.

A quick search and it appears this is a service you have to pay for?

I get that a VPN makes out internet connection super safe, but for a casual home user is it really necessary?

TIA

Last edited by scottmandue; 02-21-2019 at 11:47 AM..
Old 02-21-2019, 09:01 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

not necessary
Old 02-21-2019, 09:02 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
The Unsettler

Send a message via AIM to stomachmonkey
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmandue View Post
....but for a casual home user is it really necessary?

TIA
Depends.

How paranoid are you?

Do you want to access content that may be geofenced?

I use Nord.

I need to access backend systems at MSFT, Sony and Nintendo and that access is based on IP whitelisting which kind of restricts you to one or two locations, my office, home.

Using a VPN I can give them an IP address to whitelist that I can access from anywhere.

VPN will slow things down a bit but not something you'd generally notice.

Plus it's cheap as hell, currently Nord is $36 a year with a 3 year commit.
Old 02-21-2019, 09:09 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)