Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   Off Topic Discussions (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/)
-   -   What is the point of MY life (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/off-topic-discussions/349157-what-point-my-life.html)

rammstein 05-29-2007 11:04 AM

What is the point of MY life

Worked my butt off all the way through college. Spent time indoors studying when I could have been out doing something fun during my youth. Got an engineering job with a software company. Felt like it was a black hole of inefficiency and bull, so I quit. Got a job as a real estate rental agent. Found out that even the best struggle to make $40k/yr at that. Quit that and got a job in commercial real estate sales. I discovered that I am not very good at sales, because I can't handle lying and bull$hitting every day to people who have more money than god and don't even know what to do with it. I can't tell a person to buy or sell something just because it will make me a commission. I also don't have the advantage of a trust fund or a network of close family friends looking to invest millions into real estate, so I have to fight, claw, kill my way into even a pittance of money. So I quit that and now I am still in commercial real estate, but now I just work as an analyst for an agent who actually has business going on. The guy I work for goes on benders 2-3 times weekly and disappears for most of each week. He is a frickin loser, and with the contacts he has he should be making 3 times as much as he does. But he is younger than I am and has made more money in the last year than I have my entire life, so clearly as much as I loathe him he is doing something I am not.

I haven't made real money in 4 years since I quit the engineering job. I now have no car at all. Use my wife's car. Almost half of the money I am supposed to make is in the form of commission sharing, and I don't even trust that to come through.