Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Question How Much Should I Remove

I'm getting ready to repair a rusted rocker panel, support panel and door jamb. Here are some pictures - just wondering if I should pull off the entire rocker panel or just the rusted part and butt/spot weld in a piece cut off from a rocker panel I got from Restoration Design? I've read several posts that stated that, in retrospect, they wouldn't have drilled through all of the spot welds or have done all the grinding. Would it be a mistake to just weld in a section of the replacement panel or should I just replace the entire piece?
I'm a beginner and I'm just learning how to weld - I'll be practicing for a couple of weeks before I start on the repair. All advice will be appreciated.
Old 11-30-2013, 03:44 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
darnellsgarage

I would only remove what's bad. No reason to cut out good material just because they sold you a larger piece.
Old 12-01-2013, 10:02 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

I had similar rust issues in the rockers. If I had it to do do over again, I would only remove the rusty sections. The Dansk replacement panels I used were not perfect fits and if you remove too much sheet metal, you can easily loose your perspective on where the lines are supposed to be.

1972 911t
1999 328is
Old 12-02-2013, 04:37 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dondarnell View Post