Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Tire Rotation Question

Buddy Jon had vibration in his steering... balanced tires some time back... no change in vibration... Tie Rods looks and felt great... no play in the wheel bearings.... Not sure how much play in the steering rack is allowable..

In any case, we dropped it off for an alignment at a local tire shop,... daughter of the owner, who runs the place when he is away, went out and looked at the tires and said, "There is some scalloping... your tires are bad" Now I am no expert, and Jon worked at a tire shop some 30 years ago when he was a teenager and we could not see or feel any scalloping...

Owner's daughter tells us... "X" rotate the tires... front right to left rear and front left to right rear"... Jon and I say, "Is that O.K. if they are radial"... looking at Jon's gray hair... she says... 'in the old days, you couldn't do it, but now you can. ... So thinking about my car I pipe up and say, "so how about if you have a directional tread pattern and an embossed arrow on the side of the tire indicating a prefered direction of rotation?" She says, "You can cross rotate those also, except for.... blah blah blah special tires... and the directional tread tires will run better in the rain when they run the opposite direction"...

So we go home, cross rotate Jon's tires and what was a very strong vibration is gone!... I look at the directional treads on my tires... and they do look like they would run better in the rain if they were reversed...

O.K. tire experts....How about some confirmation or backup information on all this..

- Dave

---still learning stuff
Old 09-30-2002, 12:24 PM