Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Alternative Bosch injectors?

Hello everyone, I'm a newb to this forum and I have to say it seems a lot friendly and more informative than Rennlist thus far!

The online Pelican purchasing is really nice as well. Anyway, I digress...

My car is an 85.2 944 N/A

I've had a recurring probelm where the car stumbles on idle especially when cold and from reading other threads, suspected the ISV/Idle Control Valve.

I got a new valve and started the replacement procedure, but in the course of removing the intake plenum, I discovered that my injector pintle caps were cracked - in 1 case severely. I removed them and sent them out for service. A day or so later I got a report back that 2 were not serviceable due to leaky pintle cap seals or something similar.

In the course of searching for new/used or reman injectors I began to discover posts here and elsewhere that the Bosch 0-280-150-159 injector was also a clsoe replacement for our 0-280-150-158 injector with specs varying only 2-3%, but at nearly half the cost (for new).

I then found this thread that seemed to improce on this line of thinking with metal pintle caps to prevent the cracking I and many others have seen:

Alternative Fuel Injectors

Only thing was, it was tests performed on Carrera.

I've used search, but could find nothing on attemtps to find alternative, better, and more economical options for 944's.

Any thoughts?

Jim N
1985.5 (B) 944 N/A

Last edited by JimNap; 06-29-2009 at 10:14 AM.. Reason: Incomplete
Old 06-29-2009, 10:13 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Send a message via AIM to Razorback1980
Hey Jim,