Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog Tech Info Tech Forums

Search our site:    
 Cart  | Project List | Order Status | Help    
Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche Engine Conversion Tech Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

new build need advice

I am new to the world of Porsche. I am looking to build an older Porsche, i was thinking maybe a 964 or 930 into a daily/ occasional road course car. My general plans for the car are buying a rolling chassis, swapping an ls motor, suspension revamp, and a gt racing wide body kit. I have a few questions before i start the build though, and I heard there are some pretty knowledgeable people on here so i came to ask them. The first question is what would be the best year chassis to buy for me to start the build? Second question is there a better option for ls swapping beyond renegade hybrids or is that the best in every way? and lastly what do you think is a reasonable amount of money to set aside for a project like this for everything (chassis, engine, suspension, bodywork, etc.)?

Thanks in Advance -William
Old 06-25-2012, 07:02 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

buy a car that is smog exempt if your states warrants it.in ca the laws suck renegade hybrids have been around a long time you can buy full kit minus motor get a motor that is reliable and either rebuilt or low miles they are not expensive 2 to 4 grand
Old 07-08-2012, 10:58 PM
  Recommend this thread for the PelicanWiki    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage
Walking down the same path

William,

I am taking a 914 and doing a full RestoMod on the car and hoping to use a Renegade Kit as well. I'm looking to drop in the WRX STi Subie motor once the car has been dipped and coated, and add a 911SC suspension system. You'll have to keep me up to date on your project.

James
Old 08-16-2012, 07:37 PM