Quote:
Originally Posted by matt f
He went out of bounds in the end zone, then re-entered and recovered the fumble.
Is the end zone considered "field of play?"
An offensive player cannot do this, as you stated, and be the 1st player to touch the ball.
I'm also confused.
Great observation.
Did the ref screw the pooch with the stupidity and excitement of the play?
|
Rule 1 The Field
Section 1 Dimensions
PLAYING LINES
The game shall be played upon a rectangular field, 360 feet in length and 160 feet in width. The lines at each end of the field are termed End Lines. Those on each side are termed Sidelines. Goal Lines shall be established in the field 10 yards from and parallel to each end line. The area bounded by goal lines and sidelines is known as the Field of Play. The areas bounded by goal lines, end lines, and sidelines are known as the End Zones.
But doesn't the rule only apply to eligible receivers?
A defender can be an eligible receiver but the ball was technically fumbled meaning no forward pass meaning no one who touched it was a receiver?