Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

First oil change need some help?

Hi i just changed the oil in my 87 930, I have a question what does coking of the oil look like when you drain it?
Also around the drain plug there is a Grey matter not sure what it is, i am going to use 15 50 mobile 1 is that good?
How can i get all the oil out, i also drain the catch can as well.
Just i want to get all the oil oil out.
One more i could not get a mahle filter so i went to the Porsche dealer and bought one there its a bit smaller will it be okay?

Thanks again as i am a newbie with 930s
Old 06-02-2010, 06:54 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I think most guys just drain the oil sump (bottom middle of engine) and the oil tank which is passenger side where the dip stick go's in. To get all the oil out you will have to break open the oil lines maybe at the thermostat which is never fun. Someone else may have a better idea. The grey smutch you see on the drain plug is caused by condensation and is normal if it has been sitting or run a few times without really warming up. Your choice of oil sounds ok everyone has a preference. I use Castrol 20w50 where I am. A lot of guy's seem to like this Brad Penn product. Hope this helps.
Old 06-02-2010, 09:12 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

My bad I just remembered I don't think a 1987 has a oil sump drain plug but I may be wrong.
Old 06-02-2010, 09:14 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Driver

Garage