Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
question about boost

is there a reference book or article that can be read about boost. I am new to turbos and when you guys discuss .6 bar .8 bar 1.2 bar etc. as related to the turbo and what the different levels of bar are resulting in. I am trying to figure out exactly what that means. I have a very basic understanding of how a turbo works but would like to learn more.

15 Ram Eco Diesel
Old 11-07-2010, 07:05 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Banned

Maximum Boost, Corky Bell, (9780837601601) Paperback - Barnes & Noble
Old 11-07-2010, 07:32 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

1.0 bar is equivalent to 14.5 psi. Thus, .8 bar is 11.6 psi, etc. Stock 930's have the wastegate set to open at .8 bar. Typically, with some simple (but not necessarily inexpensive) modifications, a person can safely run 1.0 bar by changing the spring in the wastegate, installing a larger intercooler to better cool the air charge, and some means of adding additional fuel on full boost (usually an adjustable WUR). And coupled with some means of monitoring your air-to-fuel ratio to assure final tuning is correct.