Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Mark

Garage
911 SC Engine Removal

This is my first time removing my engine and I'm having trouble separating the engine from the transmission. As you can see in photo, I'm almost there but engine is as far as it can go in compartment. I can wiggle the engine and have tried to move up and down but just can't clear bolts. Any tips appreciated as I seem to be stuck.

Old 01-05-2019, 01:52 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Steve

Garage
you might need to raise the car higher, allowing more of a drop/angle and you should get clearance at that point
Dune Buggy Dual Port 1835cc
1980 911SC Targa - Driver/Winter Project
Old 01-05-2019, 01:57 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Mark

Garage
Thanks Steve. Just raise the rear and not front to get angle? Do I need to support transmission?
Old 01-05-2019, 02:04 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

You need to remove the short clutch arm on the bottom of the trans so the fingers will let go of the TOB.
Not experienced, you need to remove the engine/trans together but it’s too”late now.
Unhook the shifter in the back seat access to hang the trans.
And the accelerator rod.
Bruce

Last edited by Flat6pac; 01-05-2019 at 02:17 PM..
Old 01-05-2019, 02:15 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Mark

Garage
Bruce,
Thanks. I removed the clutch cable assembly and the hex screw from the back seat access. Am I missing something else? Agree, I was thinking I should have removed both together about halfway into trying to separate engine from tranny.
Old 01-05-2019, 02:40 PM