Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Build my own race engine?

I am a mechanically astute guy. I have the proverbial awesome set of tools. I built my '69 911S to what it is now, I have restored a number of cars including several E-type Jags from the ground up and I have rebuilt engines before (Triumph TR6 about 15 years ago). That said, I have never built a race engine or 911 engine before.

I have a complete '73 2.4 T long block that is a 7R case. I also have a complete MFI setup.

I am thinking of building my car out to a 2.8RSR replica for PCA, HSR and NASA racing. My plan would be to continue DE instructing events and such through this year. I would build the engine during this time. Then over next winter build the car out to full race spec, install the engine and go racing next year.

So, given I have this core stuff and I want a 2.8 or 2.9 (under 3.0 is good for the classes I want in each group). What should I build?

I want to assemble the engine myself. I want someone else to obviously do all the machining and to provide me all the parts and to give advice. I am really hoping Henry Schmidt will help with this.... He built my current 2.6 and it has been a very powerful engine though the oil pressure is a bit suspect.

Is it realisitic to expect to get someone else to handle getting all the machining done and to help with getting all the parts just right and specing out the engine? Can a first time Porsche builder assemble such an engine correctly?

My goal is 300hp. I definitely want MFI. I am assuming twin plugs. My budget will be something like $12K-$15K. When done I will probably go through my current 2.6 and then sell it.

What do all the guru's suggest?