Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

'77 2.7 Basic Rebuild

Total noob here and this may be a lame or un-answerable question

I was wondering if anyone has a ball park figure on what a basic (if there is such a thing) rebuild of a '77 2.7 would run if I performed all of the labor with the exception of the machine work?

Is it possible to do a top end only refresh?

Thanks...
Old 11-28-2005, 08:46 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

If it's a typical 2.7 that needs case work, valve guides, new studs, tensioner upgrades, etc. I'd budget $6,000 to $8,000.

Why do you think a top end "refresh" would suffice? Have you done compression and leak down tests?
Old 11-29-2005, 08:58 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Basic rebuild in the UK is about 3k.

The labour on that is about 35hrs @ 40. so around half the cost.
the rest is parts and machining.

There is no reason (with the engine out) you cant do the stripping. The only thing you need to do is

1. Keep everything
2. Keep your eye out for anything untoward.

The cleaning cleaning cleaning and more cleaning is normally the labour intensive bit.

You could however put your heads, B&P a and cases in a big box, send them to a machine shop and say

hey - can you skim the heads flat, put new guides in and build them up oh and whilst you are at it, pop the other bits in the cleaner for me. Bank on a nice friendly 500 or so and hey presto
your bits come back shiny and heads built up.

The you build it back up yourself.
Have an expert on hand for tools and torque settings.
there is enough advice in the pelican mans book to get you through this.