Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Buying a used camera: Shutter count

I'm looking at the Nikon D7200 with a macro lens for product photography. Used cameras that seem to be in good to excellent condition have 8000+ shutter counts.

Is that meaningful in the life of the camera?

Old 01-19-2020, 04:35 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
weekend wOrrier

I'm no expert, but 8000 wouldn't scare me away.

Even if your shutter count was much higher, the macro photography isn't going to use it much- compared to say- rapid fire pics of a motorcycle races or something.

What I would want to see is how smoothly the camera actuates, and overall generall condition of camera/ equipment. Was it babied? Was it used outside and exposed to elements? I've got a 9 year old canon5d mkII which the shutter is beginning to stick on. It has WAAAAAY more than 8000 shots. It also got used outside/ rain/ etc. I might just hit it with some PB blaster. That outta do it!

Last edited by LEAKYSEALS951; 01-19-2020 at 04:48 AM..
Old 01-19-2020, 04:46 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

I just sold a few cameras with shutter counts in the 5000 range. Not a big deal. Entry level cameras are rated for @ 50,000 shots, mid-range 100,000, and pro 200,000. That's what I've read. But, just like cars, you can have a car with 200,000 miles that has been well cared for and will continue to run for years, others with 75,000 miles are beat.
Old 01-19-2020, 05:30 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)