Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Slackerous Maximus

Remote working is working for my org.

We are in grim times. Plenty of negative to be found.

I offer this. I work for a big bank. I'm a software engineer. We are now 100% work from home.

Last week was not normal, neither is this one. But we delivered last week. I am absolutely stunned and heartened by our organization's ability to adapt. And I am not just talking about my team. I mean the whole org. You go from coming into an office 2 weeks ago to 100% work from home....and delivery is largely not affected.

Translation: The infrastructure to provide delivery of services is intact.

Old 03-24-2020, 09:49 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
The Unsettler

Send a message via AIM to stomachmonkey
Remote for tech is generally better.

Productivity is not hampered by too many useless meetings and we tend to actually put in more hours.
Old 03-24-2020, 10:09 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Registered

Garage
I'm an IT architect and I specialize in Citrix, I'm proud of the 80k some odd people we have working remotely too.
1980 911 SC
1999 996 Cab
Old 03-24-2020, 10:42 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Registered

Garage
My dilemma is not the people that can work at home. Hell, they run out the door.