Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
What's the best way to prevent surface rust b/w sandings?

I am now at the stage where I'm laying down filler primer and wet sanding it off. Because I'm doing this in my spare time, often a week or two will pass between when I wet sand and can re-prime for another sanding. And, being a novice, I occasionally sand down to bare metal, particularly on the first coat around the edges. The panels I just came back to had a bit of surface rust in areas I had sanded to bare metal. I had to treat these with metal conditioner before applying a second coat of primer.

To avoid this surface rust in the future, can I just hit these bare metal areas with etching primer (rattle can) to protect them until I am able to get back to priming again?

Thanks.

Geoff
Old 08-24-2008, 01:30 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
(Former 1968Cayman)

I was using SEM etch primer on everything that wasn't covered with something else. Then I ran out and started using my copper "weld through" primer - giving the car a somewhat pimipish look- but I've now resorted to using whatever primer I have lying around since I decided to strip it completely (again) once the metal work is done. It hasn't started rusting yet, although I've kept the garage shut for the last few weeks and have a dehumidifier on standby for bad days. In the south, I'm told that it is possible to get surface rust in as little as a half-hour during the summer.
Old 08-24-2008, 02:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage