Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Adding Mounting Tabs to FG Bumper?

Good Morning Peeps,

I Am trying to mount an IROC bummer on a 88 C. I removed all bumper shocks everything from the stock one. I am trying to add FG, wood or metal brackets/mounting tabs to the inside of bumper so i can secure it to the chassis . ( it screws to the fenders but this is not enough support)

how do i add these as in the picture from Byron below??. ( i do not want to drill and bolt thru the fender of course).

should i just glue on with some industrial adhesive then slather it with FG resin and FG mesh over it? I have little experience in FG work.

This is largely a track car. There is a front setrab cooler but it is mounted to the chassis so there is no weight hanging on the bumper. But i suspect at tracke .speeds with a spiltter, there is a significant amount of stress on this bumper hence i would like to secure it well.

i have seen some threads where they replace the bumper shock with a piece of square aluminum, then add an aluminum tab to the inside bumper which it can bolt to. but how do you get this aluminum tab FGlassed into the bumper!!??

THANKS VERY MUCH any help greatly appreciated from the pelican brain trust.

Frank

rauscher@wistar.org

Old 03-26-2013, 04:15 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
I make it like this: