Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Andial 2.9 Engine Refresh on a Budget

Alright gentlemen, looking for any feedback and encouragement. Be gentle, it's my first time doing this!

Car: 77 Targa 911S, originally a 2.7 but PO insists this has a 2.9 Andial Kit in it. I also spotted carrera tensioners, thermal reactors have been replaced with a beat to hell factory exhaust setup (complete with tiny little patches of metal), turbo valve covers, and honestly it runs pretty well. The reason for dropping the engine is two fold: The first being that it leaks/drips/smokes quite a bit. Not on acceleration, just from all the oil dripping onto the exhaust.

The other reason is while doing donuts last year to produce this video, I blew an exhaust gasket. In order to replace the exhaust gasket, I need to pull the exhaust. If I pull the exhaust, I want to put something sweet on it, so I purchased a B&B stainless race exhaust. The problem is it's a thick flange, so I'm pretty sure I need to replace the exhaust studs. Not sure yet. Thus begins the slippery slope, except unlike a lot of people here, I don't have much of a budget due to student loans (#bernie2020!).

Budget Plan: I don't want to tear the engine apart. I have some other projects going on and I just can't swing it. I'm fairly happy with the car's performance as well. Current plan is to address the triangle of death, rip out the old oil return tubes, install expandable oil return tubes, new valve cover gaskets and.... that's it. Maybe clean some things up and reinstall them. Like I said, BUDGET.