Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
1972 fuse 8 signal fuse blowing brain teaser

Hi
I have reviewed the threads for the forum but this stuff is weird so here goes for your advice.

I have a 1972 targa new to me (and I am still a student of the Porsche world and electrical auto engineering) that has blown the fuse 2 x for the turn signal number 8

The car has issues with the flashers as well that are just plain weird but with the process of logical deduction and a methodical approach I provide this info/riddle.

With fuse in place and "working":

ignition ON ; ebrake on/up for all of these observastions;
the flashers over tach blink both sides as well as indicator light over OEL (should not be); the exterior flashers do not blink.
If turn signal indicator is placed in down/left at this point, then L side only arrow stays on over tach and light above OEL light stays on as well (right side on tach goes off) and outside flasher blinks left only
If signal indicator is moved to right/up then right side stays on dash and over the OEL light as well as right blinker
Now with ignition OFF E brake still up/on following observations;
Adding in emergency flashers turned on it gets weirder...the following observations with the flashers on:
ONLY left flasher goes on on over tach as well as over OEL light stays flashing(something is blocking the function of the right flasher)
Outside of car only left flashers front and rear at this point.
Turning on the left turn signal at stalk and there is no change
HOWEVER turning on the right signal at stalk, there are no indicator lights at all inside over speedo or outside - but all 4 markers are flashing light over the OEL light continues to flash.

When the number 8 fuse is blown or removed the following observations:
ignition ON and ebrake up