Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 912 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

1968 912 seat-back tilting mechanism

I am new to vintage Porsches, so itís a steep learning curve.

My 1968 912 failed it's British MOT (roadworthy) test because one of the seat's back-tilting mechanisms is missing. The passenger side is fine and tilts and locks but the drivers side doesn't have the locking bar and levers. So I swapped the seats over and removed the passenger seat to get it certified but it then dawned on me that maybe it never had the tilt/lock mechanisms on both seats when manufactured in 68. Does anyone know if that's the case?

If when manufactured, both seats did have the tilt/locking mechanism, then I need to source the parts asap from somewhere. Can anyone please help with that? I'd probably like to do this anyway to make the car as safe as possible whilst retaining it's period look.
Old 02-19-2017, 08:47 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Yes, They both reclined.
Old 02-19-2017, 10:08 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Thanks for clarifying. Aaaarrrggghh, now I've got to source the mechanism somewhere. Any ideas?
Old 02-20-2017, 07:49 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

Garage
Oranjie
Keep an eye on The Samba. If you know exactly which parts you need, there are a few sources there. Not cheap and then there are the shipping charges. Occasionally there are guys from GB who post their parts.
Good luck.
Bill
TheSamba.com :: VW Classifieds
Old 02-20-2017, 08:11 AM
  Pelican Parts Technical Article Directory    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)