Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

stutter from 2000-3000

I am new to this game, but I have a stock 72 1.7l, I have replaced stock ignition with pertronix. I have however devolped a stutter at 2500-3500rpm. It does not do this all of the time however. I have read that a bad tps will do this. I removed mine and sure enough there were tracks worn under that contacts, I then cleaned them and bent them to align with a clean track. THe problem is much better,but still exists. I am sure the tps is not up to full snuff, but do you think this may be the main culprit or should I be looking somewhere else.

Thanks
Old 09-22-2003, 01:44 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
Upstate,

The Manifold Pressure Sensor could be a possibility as well. I suggest connecting a vacuum gauge just ahead of the MPS. Mount it so that you can monitor it while driving (or with the car on stands). Note what happens to the vacuum between these RPMs.
Old 09-22-2003, 05:28 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Pelican shows that these parts are nla ??? THis seems to only occur during a load, not during a "rev" situation. DOes that help
Old 09-22-2003, 06:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)

There are also weights in the bottom of the dizzy which stick if they are corroded. Add 1 drop of 30wt to the felt in the center of the dizzy shaft....after cleaning the crud out.
Old 09-22-2003, 06:18 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)

Howdy!