Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Question Did i gt dupped HELP!!!! Newbie here

Hello everyone ~ I have a few questions if anyone might be so kind to respond. A little history, i have owned 3 914's in the past. Two of which were scrap yard monuments and 1 which was very nice ~ ended up selling in 97 because of $$$. I recently purchased a car off of ebay and through many phone calls and discussions with the seller i managed to win the auction and took delivery of the car. Upon close inspection of the car i have realized a few things. Not all of the body panels line up, like the hood, headlights and rear trunk lid along with the engine lid. Now i didnt say they dont fit, they just arent lined up very well ~ the car had been painted before. Is this because of poor reassembly or are they just going to be that way?? I have also noticed that there is styrofoam located inside the inner rear fenders between the door jamb and the engine mounts. Was this placed there to prevent contamination of the door jambs which is all but impossible to get to when cleaning the car???? One more thing ~ there is alot of undercoating (not thick just alot of it) on the car. none of it seems to be bubbling or flaking off, but i pulled the battery out and lifted the tray it was sitting on, yanked on a piece of the undercoating and up it came to reveal the rust underneath. I am hoping this is an isolated occurance. Any suggestions on where i can look for further rust damage ?????
Old 09-23-2005, 08:08 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I posted some pics

Here are some pics
Old 09-23-2005, 09:37 AM