Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

What parts will swap between a 1.8 and a 2.0 engine?

Hello,

I'm new to the 914 scene and need some help figuring out what parts are common to the two different engines. I have a '74 with a 1.8 engine w/carbs and have an extra 2.0 shortblock engine that I acquired (assembled case (block, cam, crank) and heads, but no rocker arms, pistons, jugs, or anything else. Is there a list of common engine parts already available? I searched but came up blank.

I think the cooling tins will fit if I drill holes for the sparkplugs. How about the flywheel, fan assembly/housing/alternator? I don't believe the muffler will fit due to the longer stroker moving the heads out farther, but will the exhaust manifolds still fit? Are the rocker arms different on the 2.0 heads? How about the flywheel?

I would probably be better off to find a junk 2.0 engine to salvage but they aren't too easy to find in my area. Thanks in advance to anyone who can share their experiences.

Dave
Downstate ILL
current projects: '74 1.8, '87 Saab 900.
past projects: '77 911, 59 Bug ragtop, + 25 more too numerous to mention
Old 11-29-2007, 01:05 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

cases and cranks are different. So are the heads. Flywheels and tin are the
same as well as the alternator and exhaust manifolds. Regarding the rocker
arms cross check those part # with bap.

71 914 2.0L
76 911S
81 911 SC
66 912 V8
Old 11-29-2007, 03:00 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Administrator

Garage