Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Boxed Trailing Arms

I did a search on boxed trailing arms and I still have questions. Everyone that answered the previous threads seems to think it just adds unsprung weight and is unnecessary. I went to the track today, I pulled into the pits during my runs because the car felt weird. While checking underneath I saw that I have a crack down the inside of the passenger trailing arm, it continues underneath and at the very bottom where it looks like the two sides meet it is opened up about 1/8" wide by 3". I'm thinking that boxing them might not be such a bad idea. I'm still learning to drive the car at speed but I'm starting to post some decent times. My car has a 2.7 twin plug that is putting out about 240 h.p. I'm running Hoosiers. I don't want to just buy a new trailing arm and next year be sorry I didn't box it now while it's apart. So what do you think? Should I box them or not?
Old 11-17-2002, 05:47 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I dunno.
I admit to being ambivalent about the boxed arms.

I thing you need to analyze the crack to see if boxing the arms would have kept it from happening. Did the crack propragate from the welds? I *think* the boxing is done to keep them from twisting. I know the factory welds are sh** at the split .....humm, poetry....sorry. Anyhew, if the box pieces don't overlap the begining of the crack...act as a doubler plate, they prolly wouldn't have helped.

You get to look at it, what do YOU think?
A pic would be good.....when you have a chance. I'd really like to see it.
Old 11-17-2002, 06:17 PM