Pelican Parts Forums

Pelican Parts Forums (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/)
-   Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-924-944-968-technical-forum/)
-   -   Noob 944 build?? (http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-924-944-968-technical-forum/712620-noob-944-build.html)

Custom944 10-21-2012 07:39 PM

Noob 944 build??

Hello To all. I am thinking of picking up a 944 for a project.Just wondering which cars I should be looking at.Since this will be a project and chances are the power plant wount stay the same I am not looking at any 951's.More along the lines of 944 5 speed cars.I am wondering if there is any body differences as far as 924 and 944's??It seems as 944's have wider fender front and back can anyone confirm this?I am looking for a fixer upper.I'm a Audi mechanic by trade.I am looking for a project for the winter to have some fun with.Also i've done some research regarding engine swap it seems as just about anything can be swapped into these cars.I think I will be looking at a AAN inline 5 cylinder turbo engine from engine.Just wondering if anyone has more information when it comes to performing something like this.Thanks.

PDX-944 10-21-2012 07:46 PM

im not well versed yet in the porsche arena but - the 924 body wise is more narrow as you said. the 944 has the widebody look.
if you look at wikipedia for 944 it shows the various powerplant changes over the years. progressively up until the 968 change they got more powerful. the 944 s and s2 are more powerful as well (DOHC vs SOHC), but more expensive obviously. 85.5 was a turning point for interiors as well as other things. wikipedia is a great source for the basic info. basically the later the 944 the more hp/tq.
they are all belt driven, and the S/S2 are 16v DOHC with a cam chain.