Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Technical BBS > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

just got my 944-what things should i flush/replace...

Proud new owner of a 87 944 with 132k on the clock. Just wondering what i should replace and what parts I should keep on deck. Here is what I have so far...

Oil change with 5qts of Mobil 1 15w50 and a Mahle filter
Trans fluid change
Rear diff change
Power steering flush
radiator flush
Complete set of new radiator hoses
New spark plugs
brake check
Repair battery with epson salts and distilled water
Hood struts
Back up DME relay
new timing belt?- maybe

Im new to Porsches so im looking for anything i might have left out that is a common problem the previous owner did not know much about cars so I am trying to save my own ass and replace everything before s**t hits the fan. Thanks!
Old 05-26-2014, 02:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Allow me to be the first of many when I say: Change the timing belts. Unless you have documented proof of when they were done last and it was within the last 2 years.

Do Epsom salts and distilled water really fix batteries? Here in Canada they're dead after their 4th winter, no matter what we do.

Welcome to the forum!
'80 924 - spouse's yellowjacket.
Some wrecks and a 924 racer.
Old 05-26-2014, 02:13 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage