Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 928 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
New Owner--I don't even know what I don't know yet.

Hi Folks,

A couple of weeks ago I bought this '85 928S. I'm still trying to wrap my head around that...I've been working on VW's for a few decades (mostly Vanagons, the latest a high-top Syncro with a supercharged 2.0 inline 4) so I'm relatively handy with a wrench; however, this beast seems a bit more daunting.

I got it for next-to-nothing; it runs and drives (with a bad idle and a few noises I haven't identified). It has a million little problems, and perhaps some big ones. but it's straight, original, has 115k miles, and I'm jumping in. I've been daily driving it and taking notes on what it's telling me, mainly that it needs some basic TLC. I'm the third owner and have some documentation, but not nearly enough.

First things first, I've spent the past two weeks reading everything I can find and ordered tune-up parts, fuel lines from Roger, and a bunch of odds and ends from various places to complete the interior and fix a bad window motor and the inop sunroof. I'm finally going to have time to shut myself in the garage this weekend and get started on it.

I'm planning on doing the timing belt and water pump in the next couple of months as well.

Very excited to start a new project, and I'm going to have a million questions. Thanks!
Old 09-10-2019, 12:23 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
welcome - very nice looking car
Old 09-10-2019, 12:28 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Garage
Very Nice!!!! Good luck
1969 911 Targa SOLD
1997 986 SOLD
Old 09-10-2019, 12:58 PM