Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche Cayenne & Macan Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

starter does not stay engaged

2008 Cayenne S 160K on it.
Some back ground, first I use to be a mechanic by trade, that was 20 years ago. I was shop foreman at an Isuzu dealer, an ASE master tech, factory trained on many different makes that one at a time left the country, in order. Fiat, Renault, Peugeot, Suzuki and lastly Isuzu. As such my skill set is better then many however I have not done much with "newer" cars. I had our timing chain skip, as such it would not start, go figure. So looking into changing the chain the first step everywhere I looked was pull the engine. Glad I did not pay attention to this. There is no need to pull the engine to pull the heads and timing chain however it was not possible to get the right side heat shield out of the car with the head still on. It is however possible to wedge it up against the fire wall out of the way. Never done a timing chain that you did not line up marks instead use tools to lock down the cams and crank shaft. Any way while I had things apart as this is my wife's car that I do not want her to have issues with it as when she can not drive it she has to drive her vintage Ferrari (life is harsh) So I replaced the starter, alternator, water pump, belts and more. Prior to this I had in the last 10K replaced the vacuum hose's, mechanical fuel pump, both electric fuel pumps, spark plugs and coils. Now what is happening is that when you go to start the engine, it cranks briefly and then stops cranking. I have determined that it has to have the computer some how shutting off the signal to the starter motor as part of figuring this all out I ran a wire straight to the starter that I can use to start the car by connecting it to the battery stud in the engine compartment. It will