Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche Engine Conversion Tech Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

considering an LS swap in a 911

I have been working on my 78 911 SC/930 conversion for 6 yrs. during that time I have also done a LOT of work on several other Porsches......

I have a thread on the 930 forum of this journey.

well I have been interacting with someone also doing a lot of work on a 911 that is an LS/SB conversion, this is his second.

I am in the final phase of preping the body for some welding and then paint.

I have the 3.3 engine, but had completely disassembled for rebuild. a number of parts have been at a shop for a while to have rebuilt/machine work done.

the more I research an LS swap the more I am being drawn to that....

so, anyone do a SB/LS swap on a 911 and regret it? Love it?

I have read a number of threads on this forum and dont recall seeing an 'I wish I had never done this...." post.

of course on the 930 forum when I posted this I was told to put down the pipe....

86 944 turbo my new DE/track car.
78 930 clone project car.
Old 02-23-2020, 06:47 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
LS

I just swapped a Ford Crate engine (Ford to Ford) but my point is 10k delivered from Ford Performance with a 24mo two year warranty.

Same time last year I had my 3.2 Carrera engine rebuilt for 20k. Bottom up. I could have spent 25k easily. All stock.

Since your car is not stock and not a collector you are free to do anything that you like. The LS swap make sense.

More power, less money and unique sounds like a winner to me.
Old 02-23-2020, 06:52 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)