Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Registered

Running in a new engine with EFI conversion?

I'm getting close to wrapping up work on a '79 930 and planning the next project. 3.4L, twin plug, GT35, 3.2 intake, etc, etc. I want to use either AEM or MS3Pro. I have never done an EFI conversion before but have been doing a lot of reading. So my question is, do you think an EFI neophyte get a new engine safely set up and running well enough to get it broken in ? Or should I go to all the extra work of setting it up with CIS initially with pancake manifold to get it broken in and then do the EFI conversion? I'm leaning towards MS just because of all the knowledge available on here but AEM looks good too although a little more expensive. I know TK seems to like AEM so that is a plus. There seems to be some start up maps floating around for MS3.

Old 03-01-2017, 08:17 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered

Just running the table generator in tuner studio for any version of megasquirt will get you to a point where you can start the car after loading the general parameters. I have also found that auto tune works well for tuning off boost areas of your VE table. I have even used it to tune in the boost areas of the table with success. Just make sure you richen that area so auto tune will only lean the mixture.
Old 03-01-2017, 09:02 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)