Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

How long did it REALLY take to rebuild your motor diy?

I have been working on mine for over 2 years... not every day, not every weekend. Simply working on it when life allows... itís taking forever.

I keep seeing threads on here with folks rebuilding a motor and reinstalling in a month...

How??? No job? No kids? No wife?

Thereís ordering parts... usually about dozens of times...

Machining work... thatís weeks to months...

Getting the right tools, researching...

Documenting, taking pictures...

For example, testing and balancing the CIS system easily took 2 full weekends. Sure, next time I could do it in a couple hours... but not the first time. And you need to clean the injectors, which means you have to build a contraption to do so. And then it leaks...and then you need more copper washers...and then...

The engine tins... have some rust. So sand blast, prime, paint, thatís a day...

The blow off valve has rust. So sand blast, vht paint, reseal, new nuts and washers, reinstall... thatís a day...

Rebuilding the motor, even with Wayneís book, takes forever. Mostly due to the immense fear of doing something wrong. You triple/quadruple check. You buy bore gauges, micrometers, etc...

Perhaps a carbureted motor is easier, but a turbo seems to take way longer...

So realistically, from when you started dropping the motor, to when the car was driveable? How long?

And I figure 20% or so never go back together...

Old 01-04-2020, 03:34 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

time