Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 Engine Rebuilding Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Less brakes, more gas!

Garage
Question Distributor Curves and testing machines

I was interested in how to test a distributor outside of actually pluggin it into the engine of a running car so I looked for some testing machines on eBay. One or two come up every now and then, but they are about 25 years old...

So I got to thinking about how to build my own machine (I used to build machines for a living once upon a time). The spinning of the distributor and the noting of rpm is simple... after that measuring timing is easy once I can pick up the spark firing... which seems to be an interesting issue for me since I am primarily a Mechanical Enginerd and not an EE.

I'm interested in hearing about how some of you experts test and re-curve a distributor and which machine you use to do it. I do not want to steal your work, just very curious about how the thing works and can be tuned and measured.

Best regards,

Michael

Old 11-18-2008, 12:12 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

I have a Sun 504 for this job.

One adjusts stops, alters weights, and changes springs to achieve the desired results.
(503) 244-0990
porsche@rennsportsystems.com
www.rennsportsystems.com
Old 11-18-2008, 09:19 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)

Michael,

Warren and I were discussing this a long while ago.

You need the following.

3500 RPM motor with speed control, you could use a Variac on an industrial motor, or even something like a cheapo Harbor Freight electric drill would suffice;