Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
MYT™ (Massive Yet Tiny) Engine

I'm not an engineer, so I thought I would toss this one out there and let you all chew it up.

Link:
http://www.angellabsllc.com/

I found out about this here:
http://groups.google.com/group/alt.rec.hovercraft/browse_frm/thread/1043a58adde8438d/dd2dbe12a3e8bee5?lnk=raot&hl=en#dd2dbe12a3e8bee5
Quote:
The MYT engine is the result of a $4 million dollar R&D project undertaken by Angel Labs LLC to build the ultimate internal combusion engine. Inspired by drag racing, inventor Raphial Morgado designed the engine with a focus on power, torque, and fuel-efficiency to meet the hefty demands of the today's automotive applications in a lightweight package. The result was a revolutionary design with a power-to-weight ratio up to 40 to 1, over 3,000 ft/lbs of torque, and a diesel-mode mileage in excess of 150 mpg!
EDIT:
Another interesting engine.

http://www.quasiturbine.com/

George, Architect

Last edited by kach22i; 05-31-2006 at 10:06 AM..
Old 05-31-2006, 09:46 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Cars & Coffee Killer

Interesting. Watching the animation really explained everything to me. It seems that there are two sets of "paddles" that form each combustion chamber. The housing is round (rather than elliptical in a rotary or quasiturbine engine). Each set of paddles is loosley coupled with the crankshaft--they can push it but also have slack not move while the crankshaft is moving.

The only thing I don't understand is what keeps the slack set of paddles from moving forward during the compression stroke?