Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
Learned by do'n twice

3 Stage Paint: First timer Needs Advce

I'm hoping the pros can provide a little guidance/advice to a first timer applying 3 stage paint. I'm no professional painter but I've painted a dozen or so cars and dozens more panels over the past 20 years and EVENTUALLY, I get a pretty decent job.

I'm repairing a 2007 Lexus IS250 salvage car with a existing factory finish of 3 stage Glacier Frost Mica (code 074...kind of a pewter/very light silver color. I will be reshooting the fenders and front bumper cover after minor body work on them and a brand new factory hood. I intend to shoot them all off the car.

I've tried using an HVLP setup twice this year for other jobs ( 86 Porsche 944 total respray and Dodge something or other hood) with poor results and reverted to my old siphon guns with good results.

I've done a few nice urethane base/clear jobs with my siphon setup but know nothing about a 3 stage, base/mica/clear. My 2 local suppliers can provide either DuPont or Lessonal. Do I need a 4th "ground coat" to ensure even color between the hood and fenders?

Thanks for any advice/suggestions you can provide.

jmd_forest

Last edited by jmd_forest; 01-15-2009 at 07:03 AM..
Old 01-15-2009, 07:00 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
Registered