Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Paint, Bodywork & Detailing Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 1 votes, 4.00 average.
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
83 SC

Garage
Installing Yellowbird bumpers, Part 1 removing existing bumpers

I have been debating for a couple years now which bumpers to get and have finally decided to splurge and get a set of Yellowbirds from Rennspeed Motosports.
They are orderd and on the way, to be delivered monday or tuesday. They would have been here friday but my wife conveinently forgot to tell me that they called friday to arrange a dilivery day and time.......

I have been searching the forums for awhile trying to get as much information on removing my excisting bumpers before installing my new ones and haven't found much to date. So I am going to document my experiance here and post it as i go hoping that others will find it useful.

I have very little experiance with car repair, engine or body, so will be self taught during this endevor.

going to start with the rear bumper:

I first took off what i am calling the front quarters of the reab bumper, with the bellows.

there are seven attachments. Three self tapping screws(8mm) along the top edge, two hex nuts attachment (10mm), and two locking nuts attaching it to the bellows.

these attchments are the same for both sides. on the passanger side it is a little more difficult. the oil tank does get in the way a little for the top three attachments. the first one, easy to get to, the second one was do able with a 1/4 drive socket with a 4" or 6 " extension. i don't remember which one exactley(sorry). the third one i found easiest to get to from the other end of the oil tank(rear bumper end) again 1/4" drive with a 6"inch extension(definetly 6" this time)