Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 911 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Replacing front shocks

After reading a recent thread on shock absorbers I am thinking of replacing the Boges with Bilsteins, on my 88 Carrera. I am a little confused about replacing the front shocks. The discussion in Bentley seems to imply that you have to disconnect the brake lines, remove the caliper and brake rotor, and then remove the entire strut. Is this really necessary? If not, exactly _what_ do I need to remove to replace the front shocks?
Does the suspension need to be realigned after changing shock absorbers?
I have never done this before and want to be sure I know what I am getting into ...
There is a squeaking noise from he left front when I go over bumps at low speed. Would this be a worn out shock absorber, of more likely a worn bushing, or something else?
Old 12-28-2001, 10:22 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Garage
No you don't need to remove any of that stuff or perform an alignment.

Jack up the front of the car

Remove the wheel

Remove the big nut that holds the top of the strut (inside the trunk). Use a monkey wrench to grab the big 2.5 inch washer to prevent it from rotating while you loosen the nut.

Push the strut down through the mounting hole to remove it.

go to the side of the car, compress the strut by hand and swing the top out from beneath the fender.

Pull off the shock cover.

Use a spanner or monkey wrench to remove the threaded collar that holds the insert into the strut.

pull out the strut.

Installation is the reverse.

Also replace the rubber mount at the top of the strut. This will come with the new struts.

30 minute operation.