Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 924/944/968 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Engine Block - what to do?

here's my spare engine block that i finally had a chance to take out of the box today, and sure enough what i was mostly afraid of became a reality - #4 cyl is scoured with one single line . I wanted to rebuild my spare engine, but now i don't know what to do - i really wasn't banking on having it re-bored.

'05 Jeep Liberty
'98 Acura Integra
Old 01-02-2008, 08:47 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Hey Dan,

Sorry I'm no expert on engine rebuilds. What is involved in having it re-bored? Expensive, time consuming? I think the expense probably comes in matching new cylinders to the new bore yes?

Good luck!
2015 Charger Rallye SXT
Old 01-02-2008, 08:58 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
Proprietoristicly Refined

Here is a short post to answer a few Qs. I hope your scratch is only barely fingernail felt.
Cylinder honing - regarding ccypher's post
What is the condition of the block in your car?
John_AZ
Old 01-03-2008, 05:23 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Nobody Special