Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Removing your own engine

Hi All,

Because I haven't got the cash to get it done by someone who knows what they are doing, I am investigating the possibility of taking my own engine out and overhauling it myself.

I've never taken a 911 engine out before but I am reasonably mechanically inclined (am a marine engineer by trade).

I don't have a hoist at home, but I presume the engine can be removed if i jack the back of the car up and drop the engine out?

I don't have a garage, just a decent size driveway, so I would plan on working on the engine in the open and covering it at night - is this a no no?

I have a decent array of small tools at home, spanners, screwdrivers, allen keys, sockets and of course hammers! But if you were to put together a list of the tools you needed to put together before you started what would be on that list? I'm guessing:

* socket set
* combination spanners
* various screwdrivers
* allen keys
* pliers
* mole grips
* trolley jack (times 2?)
* axle stands
* hammers
* mutlimeter
* wire brush
* WD40 (my favourite!!)
* punches

And finally, whats the best workshop manual to guide me through all this?

Thanks in advance.
1989 944 S2 Cab // 1983 SC Cab //1977 930 3.0 - back from the dead! custom turbokraft IC, Motec M600, 550cc injectors, individual coil packs, 964 cams, UMW HFS7200 turbo, billy boat headers, turbo thomas back box, 996T oil pump, 3.2 JE pistons and barrels = 375.6bhp // 1973 BMW 3.0 CSL // 1973 E Type FHC
Old 06-20-2010, 06:43 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

Location: Reno NV, Bay Area during most weeks,, Kids still in NH