Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Miscellaneous and Off Topic Forums > Off Topic Discussions

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply
canna change law physics

Garage
Live Tracking - Tiangong 1

TIANGONG 1 Satellite details 2011-053A NORAD 37820
Old 03-31-2018, 10:04 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)
A Marchand fan before you

Garage
So there was a very lengthy explanation with numerous reasons why they can't (won't) make any prediction of when it will re-enter the atmosphere. I am not a rocket scientist but I imagine there is a window of time estimate (not earlier than... / not later than...). The total avoidance of any estimate when we are less than 48 hours out lends me to wonder if there is a concern of coming down on a highly populated area.
Old 03-31-2018, 12:08 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #2 (permalink)
canna change law physics

Garage
I think the issue is liability. I remember when Skylab burned up as well...

What goes up eventually will come down, depending on the definition of down...
Old 03-31-2018, 12:14 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #3 (permalink)
Run smooth, run fast

I just checked the tracker and it's now below 100 miles in altitude.

EDIT: Oops... just checked again and 30 minutes later, it's at 104.55... should've known it would be an elliptical orbit.

Last edited by Heel n Toe; 03-31-2018 at 07:30 PM..
Old 03-31-2018, 06:59 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #4 (permalink)
Run smooth, run fast

Latest reentry forecast provided by ESAís Space Debris Office, ESOC, Darmstadt, Germany.

Update 11:00 CET, 31 March 2018