Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > Porsche 914 & 914-6 Technical Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
Pricing for a 914 project car

I am new to the 914 board here on PP. I looked at a 73 914 project car over the weekend. I am not looking for a concourse winning restoration. Want to do a lot of the work that is required myself.

Had been sitting for 25 year. Current owner stripped down and painted the car.

- Pain quality is about a 4-5 out of 10.
- Engine and trans are out of the car
- Interior is out
- All the seals are removed
- Panel gaps look pretty good. The one that looks worst is the passenger door. very close at the bottom, and a little wider at the top
- Battery support was rusted, but metal underneath looked solid
- One piece of metal was cut out and replaced at the rear of the rear trunk in the middle. Looked like an average job. Might have to be redone.
- Car comes with 3 1.7 l FI engines, and 3 transmissions. One set was original with the car.
- Additional extra parts from at least one other parts car.

Any ideas on what would be a reasonable offer for a project car like this? Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

1977 Turbo Carrera - Work in progress
1971 911E Targa - Almost gone
Old 08-31-2010, 08:50 AM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

$500-1500 dollars is my genaric "parts car" pricing range.

There is an immense amount of work to rebuild a car and if the paint is only a "4-5", then it starts with bringing it back down to metal and starting over imho. No point reassembling the car and then being disappointed with the paint.