Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > 1- Porsche Technical Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

help needed with poorly 930

Hi all, i havee just bought my dream car a 86 930, but i did a very foolish thing and ran it out of fuel on the third day of haveing the car(fuel gauge very inacurate!!). the car ran fine before and pulled very strong. since running out of a fuel it has developed a running fault. the fault is a lack of power / hesitation when on boost this gets slowly worse as the engine warms up. i havee changed both the fuel filters, the one in the engine bay wasn't dirty but the one by the rear fuel pump was fairly dirty. i have changed the front fuel pump. i'm a mechanic by trade and have performed a fuel pressure check these are my results;

cold control pressue 2.2bar
warm control pressure 3.55bar
boost enrichment 2.7bar
system pressure 7.15bar

i'm finding hard to find any data on wether these figures are ok or not.
the car starts hot or cold fine. any help will be greatly recieved as i so want the car to perform as it did.....

wur part number 0438 140 054
fuel metering part number 0438 120 085

many thanks Ian
Old 05-27-2010, 02:31 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)

The control pressure information for specific years is listed in your shop manual (presuming you have one yet). Off the top of my head, the only thing I see amiss might be the system pressure being a bit high at 7.15 bar. That puts you at about 102 psi, and if I recall you should be less than that....like around 97 psi or 6.8 bar. That could cause you to run a bit lean, but I wouldn't think it would cause your extreme poor running conditions.