Pelican Parts
Parts Catalog Accessories Catalog How To Articles Tech Forums
Call Pelican Parts at 888-280-7799
Shopping Cart Cart | Project List | Order Status | Help

Go Back   Pelican Parts Forums > Porsche Forums > 911 / 930 Turbo & Super Charging Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread
Author
Thread Post New Thread    Reply

Garage
PLEASE HELP! car wont run after maintence

first off i am praying to the porsche gods i didnt mess anything up permenatly...

car is a 1980 930 3.3 euro car

67k on the clock,...the car came from one owner, i have been driving the car for the last three months and it was running good,...

i noticed some electrical tape in a few spots on the plug wires, so i decided to do some maintence work on the engine,...

replaced spark plugs with NGKs
replaced rotor
replaced cap
replaced fuel filter with bosh unit, (arrows on filter pointing up, assuming this is correct)
replaced spark plug wires with magnacor (first thing i noticed was these new wires are no seperate ground wires on them, and they were very very tight fitting)
replaced all o ring seals on intercooler and charge pipe,...
put everything back together,..

first time i turned the car i expected the car to crank a bit to fill the new filter up, which it did,...

then started and died right away, then started and died, then started and it ran, but it sounds like its running on 2-3 cylinders and that is it and car is shaking very bad,..and backfiring / popping

i shut it down right away,....

any ideas on where to start?

i checked the firing order 4 times, it is right
i checked the spark plugs to make sure they are tight, they are
i checked the wires, they are all on and tight

if i start engine and take a quick video would that help?

Old 10-04-2010, 02:26 PM
  Pelican Parts Catalog | Tech Articles | Promos & Specials    Reply With Quote #1 (permalink)